Can you help? Growing onions from seeds

For the first time I’m going to try growing onions from seeds. Previously, we’ve grown them from sets and they don’t seem to store well.

I’ve been reading up on the subject and found loads of information, but my big question remains unanswered:

How deep should they be planted?

I would be very grateful if an informed allotmenteer, gardener or  grower could advise me please.

I know you plant onion sets with the top showing to prevent ‘thick necks’.  But onions are quite shallow-rooted and I’m worried if I don’t plant them properly, they will wither and die.

If you know the answer, please leave a comment here.  Oh … just to be on the safe side, I’ve planted some sets too …  she of little faith?

Tags: , ,

One Response to “Can you help? Growing onions from seeds”

  1. stumblingupwards Says:

    I’d love to say I know, sadly I still grow from sets myself. According to my sources (books) you transplant 1/2″ deep. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

